Denny Zager knows guitars
The Wall Street Journal
ZAD80CE Solid Cedar/Rosewood Acoustic Electric Pro Series
ZAD80CE Solid Cedar/Rosewood Acoustic Electric Pro Series
ZAD80CE Solid Cedar/Rosewood Acoustic Electric Pro Series
ZAD80CE Solid Cedar/Rosewood Acoustic Electric Pro Series

ZAD80CE Solid Cedar/Rosewood Acoustic Electric Pro Series

In Stores: $3000+ Our Price: $2,195 Sale: $1,795 - 1 Available

4.61 out of 5
Rated in the top 2% of guitars in the USA
Harmony Central (1200+ reviews)
Ultimate Guitar (900+ reviews)
47 year AAA+++ Better Business Bureau rating
17 year Ebay feedback rating with  10,000 documented sales.
13 year Zager Guitars National Viewpoint Rating
5 Star SiteJabber Reviews
10/10 score at Reseller Ratings
Perfect rating on ProductReview.com

60 years of playing, performing and teaching guitar has given Denny an advantage over the majority of guitar builders today. Denny understands the demands of the professional player because he is one. He discovered there are certain key elements that make a great guitar, and with that knowledge he created the Zager ZAD80 Series. Elements like solid wood construction, high quality hardware, a custom neck design that feels good in your hand, string spacing that allows you to move faster on the fretboard, that simultaneously prevents buzzes and rattles, combined with a special bracing system that produces one of the best sounds in the guitar industry today. Read more

Zager Pro Series guitars play a little easier and sound just a little more powerful than our regular series instruments.   The woods are aged longer.  The finish is applied thinner so the sound board moves half a millimeter more when the strings are hit providing a deeper bass response.  Each piece of abalone and pearl is laid by hand and in combination with gold grover tuners that “pop” to the eye on the red cedar finish.  Most customers buying our 80 Series are touring artists and veteran musicians coming from high level Martin, Taylor, Santa Cruz and Gibson.  Unlike our 20 and 50 Series guitars that use spruce and mahogany giving them a punchy bright character, the 80’s are constructed using East Indian rosewood and red cedar giving them a deeper, richer, more mellow response.

For 2016 Denny called his good friend Bob Fishman at Fishman Electronics (considered the best guitar electronics company in the world) and ordered the Fishman 60 Series electronics package that we’ve been using for 8 years now in the 80 Series.  The electronic transducer system and automatic tuner allow you to plug into any amplifier or PA system and play it like a full blown electric.  The onboard equalization package provides infinite sound possibilities with a built in professional grade automatic tuner that tunes your guitar in a fraction of the time it takes using conventional methods.  When you’re tired of electric simply unplug and you’ll have the traditional sound of an acoustic.

Pros using the ZAD80CE Pro Series say it matches or betters $3000 instruments, but with easier playability and a lower price since you’re buying direct from our workshop in Lincoln, Nebraska. Be sure to read artist comments and magazine reviews on the 80 as it consistently rates in the top 5% of acoustics made world wide. 100% money back guarantee including shipping fees both ways. It’s a lifetime instrument so it comes with a lifetime warranty.  Truly a work of art with a stunning sound that will get better year after year.

  • Full size dreadnought the most popular guitar size in the world.
  • Solid wood construction sounds better every year as it ages.
  • Venetian cutaway box design allows you to slide down low into the box for easier playability.
  • Built in genuine Fishman 60 transducer  system allows you to plug into any amplifier or PA system and play it like a full electric guitar.
  • Built in genuine Fishman 60 automatic tuner system tunes your guitar perfectly in seconds and if you’re a beginner actually trains your ear for perfect pitch.
  • Built in genuine Fishman 60 equalizer system gives you infinite sound possibilities allowing you to dial in the perfect sound.
  • Hand carved bracing for greater movement of the soundboard providing a richer sound.
  • Slim neck design feels natural in your hand making it easier to form chords.
  • Custom string spacing for greater speed and accuracy (and less rattles).
  • Zager soft touch fret design for less string bite and finger fatigue.
  • Adjustable truss rod to raise or lower action depending on your playing style.
  • Special ultra thin high gloss finish allows more movement of the body for deeper sound
  • Hand carved bone nut and saddle. (Found on predominantly $1500+ guitars).
  • Hand laid abalone inlay rosette with pearl fret markers.
  • Ivory binding detail and zipper stripe down back (Found in predominantly $1500+ guitars).
  • Genuine Grover tuning machines (best in the world).
  • 100% money back guarantee
  • Lifetime warranty

Videos

Features

guitar dimensions
Dreadnought Size Dimensions
Height: 41 inches
Box length: 20 inches
Waist: 11 inches
Widest bout: 15.5 inches
Depth: 4.75 inches
Scale length: 25.5 inches
guitar dimensions
Venetian Cutaway Style
A "Venetian Cutaway" is a guitar that has a section of the body "cut away" by the neck which makes it easier to slide your hand down low to reach chords near the sound hole. Denny braces the cutaways a little differently then his full box guitars so sound quality matches. If you’re a player that spends a lot of time on that part of the neck a cutaway box is invaluable.
guitar top cedar
Western Red Cedar Top
The most important part of an acoustic guitar is its top. The top acts like a speaker. When a string is plucked energy is transferred to the top and the top starts to move. Cedar is softer than spruce, and that softness translates into a sense of sonic warmth. Cedar guitars sound warmer, deeper and slightly richer. Used on only the highest quality acoustics in the world.
See full build sheet
guitar back sides rosewood
Indian Rosewood Back-sides
One of the most popular and traditional guitar woods of all time. Where mahogany lends itself to the midrange, rosewoods sonic profile is deeper in the low end. Not to take anything away from mahogany as many players will find it difficult to tell them apart, but the dedicated ear will notice a deeper, richer, sweeter tone coming from a rosewood guitar. Many players don’t know that cedar is one of the few woods that can outperform spruce when paired with rosewood which is why Denny uses a Western red cedar top with Indian rosewood back and sides on his 80 series guitars.
indian rosewood headstock
Indian Rosewood Headstock
Indian rosewood is commonly found on high-end guitars. This wood is heavier and more dense than mahogany and also is very stable and resonant. East Indian Rosewood is dark brown with sometimes purple-brown streaks giving a pleasant figure. The guitar head stock configuration is a registered trademark and is used under license from C.F. Martin & Co. Inc. of Nazareth, Pennsylvania, USA.
guitar brace work
Zager Design (Hand Scalloped) Bracework
The technique of scalloping or shaving the braces can have a huge impact on the power and tone of an acoustic guitar. By shaving or reducing the thickness of the brace, it becomes more flexible and therefore lets the top move more freely. When done by a Master Luthier the brace maintains its structural integrity, while making the top more efficient. The result is faster attack, longer sustain, more bass, more power, and an overall improvement in the whole tone system.
guitar inlay
Full Abalone Inlay Inlay
Abalone inlay is found on only the highest quality guitars. Laid by hand one piece at a time, the color and translucence of each piece changes with different amounts of light. Not only does it add to the overall look of your guitar, but it also adds to the value. Our 900 Pro Series guitars have an inlay rosette around the sound hole in combination with inlay around the entire face as well as small cross fret markers going up the fret board
guitar fret crosses
Pearl Cross Fret-markers
Used on only the highest quality guitars. Laid by hand on the fret board one piece at a time. It's a very tedious, time consuming process but the results are breathtaking
Zipper Stripe Back-detail
Laid by hand one piece at a time. Adds to the overall beauty and sets off the color of the wood. Found on only the highest quality guitars in the world.
high gloss finish
High Gloss Finish
High-gloss finish provides excellent protection but at the same time is extremely light and elastic. This is a crucial point in both the sound of the guitar and its ability to age—which is what makes a guitar sound better year after year. A thick finish muffles a guitar's vibration and blocks aging.
guitar truss
Custom Adjustment Setting Truss-rod
Denny designs his guitars with a truss rod adjustment setting that allows you to dial in your guitar to your particular playing style. In this way if you're a heavy handed player you can set the action higher so you can "get on it" a little for more power, and if you're lighter handed touch player you can dial in the action low so you can move faster and play longer with less fatigue.
guitar transducer
Genuine Fishman Built-in-transducer
Fishman transducers are the highest quality transducers used in acoustic guitars today. A transducer is an amplification device placed under the saddle which allows you to plug into an amplifier and play an acoustic guitar like an electric guitar. This is all run by an on-board electronics package and equalizer that allows you to control the sound. A transducer properly installed by a pro luthier will bring out the bass response and rich ambiance of your guitar's wood. Done improperly your guitar will sound flat and have uneven tone quality.
Guitar Presys
Genuine Fishman Built-in-automatic-tuner
Ask any pro who makes the finest guitar electronics systems in the world and 9 out of 10 will say Fishman. An electronic tuner allows you to tune your guitar in a fraction of the time it takes using conventional tuning methods. Simply hit a string and the LCD indicator guides you into perfect pitch. A red and green light instantly lets you know when the tune is dead on. This is a very important tool for the new player who is trying to develop and train their ear for perfect pitch. It's also helps the professional player who wants to get in perfect tune fas
Guitar Presys
Genuine Fishman Built-in-equalizer
Fishman equalizers are the highest quality equalizers used in acoustic guitars today. The equalizer is an electronic unit that controls the sound and volume when plugged into an amplifier or PA system. There are adjustments for highs, mids, lows, and presence. Fishman EQ's are used exclusively on high end acoustics by artists such as Bob Dylan, Paul McCartney, Alan Jackson and Aerosmith to name just a few.
guitar grover gears gold
Genuine Grover (gold) Tuning-machines
Genuine Grover sealed tuning machines are found on only the finest guitars made. Look at tuners on $2500+ acoustics and you will see the majority have "Grovers." Unlike open gear tuners where the tuning mechanism is exposed, Grover sealed tuners contain a lubricant that keep the tuning mechanism sealed air-tight so the gears turn smooth and continue to for the life of your instrument. Lifetime warranty. If you have a tuner go bad we'll replace it free of charge for life.
guitar nut
Bone Hand Carved Nut
Denny hand carves his nuts from bone for each guitar so the strings are set lower with custom spacing. Lower string heights make it easier to press down to form chords and it also increases finger speed. Custom spacing allows you to move faster with less buzzes, mutes, and rattles because you’re no longer bumping adjacent strings. Custom string spacing makes it easier for all hands sizes big and small. Lifetime warranty. Break a nut and we'll replace it free of charge for life
guitar saddle
Tusq Hand Carved Saddle
Denny hand carves each saddle for each individual guitar. Denny also adjusts the intonation settings to bring the guitar harmonically in balance with itself. This not only makes your guitar easier to play, but it also makes it sound more powerful. Customers say our guitars fall into tune easier and stay in tune longer...this is one of the reasons why. Denny uses only genuine "Tusq" brand saddles on his guitars which you generally only find on higher dollar acoustics . Lifetime warranty. Break a saddle and we'll replace it free of charge for life.
zager ez play guitars
Zager Custom Lights Strings
Zager custom strings are designed by Denny exclusively for his Guitars. We have customers using all brands and gauges of strings on our guitars with excellent results (Elixir, Martin, Fender, Gibson, D'addario) but these are the strings our customers seem to like the most on our guitars. Hand wound daily in our shop in Lincoln, Nebraska.
frets
Zager Soft Touch (Hand Filed) Frets
Denny hand files each fret one at a time on every guitar that leaves our shop. By filing the frets Denny achieves two important things. When sliding up and down the neck your fingers will no longer get irritated and sore and you won't suffer from what we call "String Bite" and overall finger fatigue. Secondly, when you file the frets by hand each fret will have the same uniform height. 9 times out of 10 when you have a buzzing string it has nothing to with your playing, it’s because you have a guitar with a fret that’s sitting away from the fret board hitting a string.
life time warranty
Lifetime Warranty
Our warranty is simple. Lifetime on all guitars. A quality guitar should be made to last a lifetime and if it doesn't it wasn't a quality guitar to begin with.

Zager Artists of the Month for October




See more artists

Reviews



<ajmuha@gmail.com>
Springfield, Illinois
4 months ago
Model: ZAD-900

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
not as well as my martin but nicer playing guitar,I have owned this one for 6 yrs. and I keep going back to play it more then my martin.it is nice to finger the neck which is 3'4at the nut has a nice feel and makes it easy to finger pick,also it is great to flat pick for playing blue grass music,the sound is full sound when using med.set of strings. great for playing long hours and or studio sessions,it is well built and has a sound of higher priced guitar, so for the price you can't beat it

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
the neck,it has a wonderful feel and is great to flat pick or finger pick

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
1,200.00 or more ,it has good value and can fill any room with sound with the right set of strings

How would you rate customer support?
I never had to use any customer service,it is a well built guitar,never have had a problem with the guiyar

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
yes,the ease of playing it is great,

Additional comments:
I am happy with this guitar but you have to have the right set of strings on it to get the full sound it puts out.I am very happy with it and will keep it for a long time,you can pay a whole lot of money for a big name but I'll keep this one,thank you


Springfield, Massachusetts
4 months ago
Model: ZAD-20E Mahogany

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
I have been playing guitar for over 40 years. I have owned quite a few guitars and I have played some other fine guitars as well. To my recollection, I have never played an acoustic guitar which was as easy to play as my Zager guitar. The action is the best that I have experienced on an acoustic guitar.

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
This is a tough question because it has many features but I would have to say the ease of playing.

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
I am no expert in this area but would say at least twice what I paid. I have played a Martin while being fine guitars, were not as easy to play as my Zager.

How would you rate customer support?
The customer service is unequaled. I am amazed at the communications. Most times when I sent an email asking a question, I received a response in minutes. I am not kidding!!!

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
In my opinion, if you are serious about learning to play acoustic guitar, do not waste your time on any other guitar. If you are an experienced player you should have a Zager guitar. The rest of your guitars will soon be gathering dust and you will start thinking about listing them on Craigslist.


<gerald.pierce@gmail.com>
Durham, North Carolina
4 months ago
Model: ZAD-900

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
I am thrilled with this guitar. If you see my review of the 80ce, you can tell how much I like it. When I found out that the ZAD900 was not going to be continued, I bought the last one in inventory as an early birthday present. This guitar is a work of art on every level. I understand that Denny spends extra time setting up these 900's, and I could tell it immediately. It has an even lighter touch than my 80ce. The 80ce has a cedar top, while the 900 has spruce. They are different guitars with the different tops and the absence of the electronics in the 900. I play them every day, interchangebly, depending on whether I'm upstairs or downstairs. I guess the best way to explain it is that the 80ce is an elegant instrument, while the 900 is like playing a piece of art.

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
Now that I've been playing Zager guitars for a while, I guess I have to admit that my favorite part of the 900 is simply using it to learn from Denny's lessons. I don't think about the guitar when I play, because it takes care of itself. The light action makes it easy to feel linked directly to the music. I think that's about as good as it gets. Oh, it is beautiful! But the lessons enable me to turn that beauty into music like I've always wanted to play.

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
I would not know. I have never played anything like the ZAD900, because I don't think that there is anything comparable. Knowing the guitar now, I would certainly have paid more for it than I paid. Don't tell Dennis!

How would you rate customer support?
I would rate it as the very finest I've ever encountered.

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
I not only would, I helped my neighbor decide on his Zager. His Martin stays locked up, and the Zager is what he plays.

Additional comments:
I have been playing since before the "2525" song was a hit. I have had very nice guitars, but I will play only Zager guitars as long as these fingers work.

<wrangler@Q.com>
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
4 months ago
Model: ZAD-20 Natural

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
I have had a few guitars over the years, mostly cheaper guitars. I never gave it much thought and figured most guitars were about the same. That is until I recieved this beautiful instrument. It plays very easy and the sound seems to leap out.

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
The finish is superb, no sharp edges and it feels very comfortable to play. The fine string action makes chording very easy.

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
I happend to be in a music store recently and as you would figure there were many guitars on display. My ZAD20 would compare with the Guitars in the $800.00 to $900.00 range. The thing that really makes me feel good about my Zager guitar is knowing it is hand made right here in the United States.

How would you rate customer support?
Dealing with a company on the computer can always be a challange. I found the customer service very prompt. I ordered my guitar on a Tuesday and it was in my hands on Friday morning.

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
YES. I have already shared the Zager web site with friends of mine. I do this with pride knowing I have a beautiful guitar that will last a lifetime.

Additional comments:
I look forward to playin my ZAD20 most every day. I usually pactice in the early evening. I find it somthing I look forward too.

<jontav@charter.net>
Toledo, Ohio
4 months ago
Model: ZAD-80CE

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
No comparison. My new ZAD80CE is by far superior to the guitar I was using. I am 79 yrs of age and just learning to play. Having a lot of fun,but wasn't doing well with the Fender acoustic I was using. My ZAD80CE is much easier to play, easy on the fingers by comparison. Makes me want to learn and play.

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
I have many faviorite parts about this guitar. Sound in far superior to my fender. Playability is a very big favorite. Looks, it is a beautiful instrument, well crafted.

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
I would have guessed in the $1200 to $2000 range, but I am not an expert on guitars.

How would you rate customer support?
Wow, I have never dealt with a company like this in my entire life. Customer care and support is the best I have seen, period. Dennis and his Dad are so supportive and helpful to their customers, willing to go all out to satisfy and assist.

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
Without a doubt, I am going to introduce members of my Church band to this guitar. I would recommend this guitar to everyone and anyone. Most especially to people just learning to play. The ease of playing this intrument along with the sound is motivation enough for anyone to push forward with learning and becoming an accomplished player.

Additional comments:
What else can I say. As I said, I'm 79 yrs old and just learning. I was having great difficulty with the fender acoustic I was using, and couldn't practice but for a few minutes at a time because of sore fingers. The ZAD80CE changed all this for me, now I am practicing everyday for longer periods of time and enjoying it immensley. I am encouraged to stay with it with this guitar. What a joy, and what fun I am having. The icing on the cake with this guitar is the company, customer care and service is above reproach and makes everything just that much better. Dennis and his Dad are the best.

<www.georgebatonyi.hu>
Olathe, Kansas
4 months ago
Model: ZAD-20 Black

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
Am one of the few people to whom is given the best guitars I play. The guitar Zager ZAD 20 is the best model of metal-string acoustic guitars can only be mentioned. Electronics has been spoken professional looking custom-made guitars that sound. I think the Guild or Gibson acoustic modelleivel first small series can be compared! Each guitar is a one Allman sound. This simple model is able to speak beautifully, without electronic effects and manipulation that is reviewed every need!

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
Clearly a unique work. A real American dream. This instrument has a soul.

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
Stated in this model are ordered for $ 3000 and 2000. I think it is under-priced! Nalla customs cooperation in Europe has not reached its real value! Zager gift given with much that is already worth the $ 200. Dedicated pictures, Strings gifts, t-shirt, and professional packaging: Do not forget about the fact that it was now so many sold for years but this will be an invaluable instrument price!

How would you rate customer support?
The first time was considered a family member. This has never happened to me in the world of business! There are many leading companies envy service this quick and perfect! Special thanks to the international quality packing and shipping!

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
After the happy owner of one such instrument, unintentionally ending up in a community where the order is still not leave him alone! In addition to teaching Zager some kind of musical instrument is easy to tell that the guitar is not worth the good professional opportunities! I can not wait to pick it up for her next album! Those who learn to play the guitar, however, this is an opportunity to get to other similar priced "guitar looking objects" would be granted to him not ... A new generation of guitarists Denny Zager be grateful!

Additional comments:
Unfortunately I do not speak due to his dyslexia in English. (in common) Therefore, we translated a software forced to think about it. I hope I was clear! All the best for everyone who was interested in my opinion! 2012th October www.georgebatonyi.hu

<sonnyandsue@verizon.net>
Elgin, Illinois
4 months ago
Model: ZAD-80CE

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
this guitar is the best that I have. I do have 4 other guitars that are brand names but none play as easy or have the balance & feel as my ZAD80CE.

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
I love balance & EZ play I need to get use to not pressing so hard on strings The neck is nice & smooth & easy to move up & down with ease

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
$2000.00 to &2200.00

How would you rate customer support?
110% plus I don't think it can be beat

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
YES You get the most guitar for your money - Quality - looks - tone - easy playing - YOU HAVE IT ALL

Additional comments:
After playing my ZAD80CE I just wonder what a ZAD900CE would be like!

<ja2873@netscape.com>
Chesapeake, Virginia
4 months ago
Model: ZAD-20 Mahogany

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
This is a nice guitar, I currently have a Seagull S6 Original and a Blueridge BR40AS. They are both good guitars, but the Zager beats them hands down.

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
Besides looking good, I like the way it plays.........sounds good, feels good.

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
I would guess $800 maybe $900 but that's not the point. I've had $800-$900 guitars that don't play or look as good as this.

How would you rate customer support?
Haven't had the "opportunity" to check it out but my e-mails to Dennis Jr prior to my purchase were answered quickly. Try getting a quick response from some other guitar companies.

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
Absolutely.....the quality of this guitar, at this price, lifetime warranty plus, if you don't like it send it back at no charge.......there's nothing to lose.

Additional comments:
I'm impressed. This guitar is a keeper. I'm in my 60's and have a little arthritis in my hands so the EZ-Play thing got my attention. This guitar really is a joy to play.

<r.h.e@comcast.net>
Aurora, Colorado
4 months ago
Model: ZAD-80CE OM

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
This guitar is in no way short of any quality that you would expect to find in a Martin etc. In fact I find it to be a much nicer looking guitar with a warmer tone & excellent sound qualities, and tuning that holds tune. This acoustic guitar blows away any other guitars that I have ever owned.

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
I was considering purchasing a Martin guitar, but when I found the Zager site & read the reviews & testimonies I decided to take a chance and try the Zager. I am very pleased that I decided to go this way, as it saved me some serious cash + the quality in my opinion exceedes that of the Martin, which everyone already knows Martin is an excellent guitar company.

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
$1,600.00 - $2,000.00

How would you rate customer support?
Beyond Superior, very quick responses to emails + a true authentic concern about their guitars + the players needs.

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
Yes, I would definiately reccomend this guitar to anyone looking for a fine quality acoustic guitar. The sound is so sweet & this guitar holds tune better than any other acoustic that I have ever owned... Fenders, Charvels, Gibsons.

Additional comments:
You can not go wrong with the purchase of a Zager Guitar, be prepared to be amazed. R. Emery 423 N. 4th Street Reynoldsville, Pa 15851

<hghensley@sbcglobal.net>
Mobile, Alabama
5 months ago
Model: ZAD-20 Sunburst

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
I am fairly new to playing the guitar so my opinion may not mean as much as a seasoned player but I had two guitars that I started with. They were cheapies and were hard to play but at the time I didn't know there were easier guitars out there to play. The quality and sound of the cheap guitars compared to the Zager are miles apart. Similar to a Yugo and a BMW! You get what you pay for certainly pertains in this instance.

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
I got the Sunburst and love the look! But I have to say the ease of play and the sound are the things that stand out the most. They say the sound gets better with age but if it never got better I would still love it.

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
I started looking at guitar prices as soon as I took it up and I priced many online and a few in the stores. Zager could double the price of the Zad20 and still be in the ballpark.

How would you rate customer support?
I got almost instant feedback from Dennis when I asked a few questions. Amazing in this day and age to get this kind of support. On a scale of 1-10 it is 10plus.

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
I would not hesitate to reccommend it to friends. It would be doing them a favor.

Additional comments:
I bought a Zad20 at a discount because of a minor blemish. I have yet to find the blemish and I have looked at every square inch! I got a exceptional guitar at a discount..priceless!


Escondido, California
5 months ago
Model: ZAD-20E Mahogany

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
This is a first guitar . It's beautiful and has a rich sound.

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
The value . The customer service made the purchase even more enjoyable.

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
1,000-2,000.00

How would you rate customer support?
A++++

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
These were recommended by a trusted friend, who is a schooled/ trained musician . Also zager guarantee stands behind every piece and makes it completely returnable .


<widmer.dave@gmail.com>
Palmdale, California
5 months ago
Model: ZAD-20 Sunburst

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
My niece's husband told her that this was not the most expensive guitar he owned, but that he "really liked the sound". I took this very seriously as he was a master quitar player.

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
I too really like the "sound" and it is very easy to play. My guitar is in great condition and it is very attractive. I own a 12 string Martin worth $2,000 made prior to 1970 and also a newer 6 string Seagul made in Canada valued at $200.. My Zager 6 string is a great compliment to my other guitars and it has a different "sound" than my other guitars that is "mellow" and has a great "deep" sound in the "lower" strings.

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
Somewhere between $200 and $800. The case is better than any case I have owned and is customized to fit this guitar and very well built and protective.I was told that the case may be worth several hundred dollars.

How would you rate customer support?
Zager answered my e mail immediately and was very kind and helpful.

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
Yes, in this price range it is very easy to play and the "sound is great", and it is an attractive guitar.

Additional comments:
I was pleased to learn of the history of Denny Zager, his music and his guitar making skills.I have placed this "history" inside the case (as I will give this guitar to my grandson) and want him to appreciate the history.

<bigod1214@aol.com>
Berkeley, California
5 months ago
Model: ZAD-20E

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
i have played matin and breedlove in the stores ,such as guitar center , musicans friend ,etc .

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
i bought a zad20e and i do think that it plays just has well as any of them .my fingers fell better ,my chord ,barre and flat picking have improved.

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
this is just a guess ,,,,,,,,,,1200-1200

How would you rate customer support?
great so far

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
yes i would ,,,,,,,,,playability

Additional comments:
great guitar for the money . if you don't have a'lot of money ,they will have one for you

<bobbysr60@yahoo.com>
Dayton, Ohio
5 months ago
Model: ZAD-50CE OM

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
Looks is far beyond the others,the sound is great.

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
My favorite part is the size & the parts on the guitar.

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
Over a thousand dollars.

How would you rate customer support?
Very good, the best.

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
I would recommend this guitar to anyone, the guitar and the service.

Additional comments:
Dennis Jr. has been very helpful and I appreciate it very much, and I feel he will continue to be at a person's side to help.

<jazrich@sbcglobal.net>
Norwalk, California
5 months ago
Model: ZAD-20E Sunburst

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
The guitar is certainly very easy to play. It even has better playability than my Yamaha!

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
I love the looks of the wood and the sunburst finish. It is a beautiful piece of art.

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
I would estimate the price to be $1200 or more.

How would you rate customer support?
Well..It has been the best support I have ever gotten from anyone on any product, not just guitars. Dennis Jr. has been amazing, guiding me through the purchase and answering many emails instantly.

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
I certainly would recommend this guitar to others, because of the value and and craftsmanship of this guitar.

Additional comments:
I anticipate many many years of enjoyment with my new ZAD 20E sunburst. I can't wait to play it in our bluegrass jam.

<michaelht1@montana.com>
Charleston, South Carolina
5 months ago
Model: ZAD-900

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
That is a difficult question to answer as my other guitar is a ZAD80, which is both a beautiful piece of workmanship but wonderful to listen to and play. MY new Zager 900 is deeper in tone and resonance is a thing of crisp clarity

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
My favorite part is of course the playability, which is not outdone by the craftsmanship; the maple binding adds a wonderful finishing touch to this piece of art, love the lows (the perfect definition of attenuation)

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
From the time I started my guitar quest with little knowledge of what made a quality guitar to now where I have gained enough knowledge to make a purchase decision based upon facts and of course what I like, this would far easily within the $4000-2000 range

How would you rate customer support?
Customer support is second to none in any industry; I have dealt with Dennis on both my purchases, the first time he provided answers to a myriad of my questions quickly and without bias to allow me to make an informed choice. Both Denny and Dennis Zager always goes the extra step to make the entire purchase and ownership a rich and rewarding experience.

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
I would gladly recommend the Zager guitar and have done so on many occasions, what would be more relevant is that the people I take lessons from and who are Luthier’s have also recommended the Zager to other students.

Additional comments:
The Zager 900 is my second Zager guitar, I first purchased the ZAD80 and it was / is a beautiful piece of craftsmanship, wonderful sound, quality throughout; but I could not get the thought out of my head if the 80 sounds this good, what does the 900 sound like (and I was drawn to the finish of the hand bent Maple binding). While I cannot justify such a quality guitar purchase at my level of ability “as I am still learning to play and read music”, I do find just holding what I consider to be a beautiful piece of artwork and listening to the richness of the sound extremely gratifying and it further stimulates my desire to learn and do justice to this magnificent product. My new 900 sounds unbelievable, while it maintains the deep richness of my Zager80, the 900 allows you to almost feel the base and high notes are extremely sharp and mid tunes full of quality. Of course dealing with Dennis is always a pleasure, always helpful, provides recommendations to the person not to a potential sale, I certainly enjoy doing business with Zager as I know I will not be disappointed in either their customer service or the quality of their incredible guitars. While I cannot provide a professional review or that of even a good guitar player, I have had several extremely talented guitar players and entertainers tell me they extremely impressed with the Zager (and they have recommended them to people that have asked their advice on a guitar purchase). I am tremendously thrilled with this guitar (actually both the 80 and now the 900) practice and play every day and love the sound and feel of the quality and of course the playability. My sincere thanks for this newest addition of your guitar into our home, I hope do it justice as I become a more skilled player, in the meantime please know I have a huge smile on my face every time I simply hold it and admire the quality of your work. Thank you. With warmest regards Tom

<robertmakela@yahoo.com>
Ann Arbor, Michigan
5 months ago
Model: ZAD-50CE

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
I'm 55 years old, started playing at age 9 . I own a gibson now but through the years have all the top brand's . This is by far the best fingering of them all !! I play it for an hour and my left hand and fingers are not sore . The sound is deep and bright at the same time .

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
The sound !!! The way it look's The way it feel's

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
2000 or better

How would you rate customer support?
never needed it . I did send an email and got a reply in 10 min.

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
YES !!! The guitar speak's for it's self , just play it , you will know .

Additional comments:
Thank's that's all I can say


Fresno, California
5 months ago
Model: ZAD-20E Sunburst

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
It exceeds them in quality and playability.

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
The action and easy play set up for the guitar.

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
$1000

How would you rate customer support?
Perfect in everyway what a great company.

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
Most certainly I plan to already and will proudly where the zager shirts even at gigs to help promote one of the best playing acoustics I've ever had.

Additional comments:
Thanks so much and look forward to doing more business in the future.

<presamks@comcast.net>
Providence, Rhode Island
5 months ago
Model: ZAD-20E Sunburst

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
My new zad20E plays as easily as did my old Martin D-18. Mr. Zager has hit upon the method of string adjustment that allows a well built guitar the important component of playability.

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
I own many guitars and the most important factor concerning this one given the playability advertized by the owner is the immediacy and positive response you get with any and all inquiries. The customer service with this company is superior to any I've encountered previously.

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
I would have guessed the price to have been much higher.

How would you rate customer support?
As mentioned previously, the customer support and service is phenomenal. This attention to customer satisfaction displayed whenever called for is much more than an aside regarding this company and its products. Wow is my description when rating this company's support.

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
Absolutely. The value and playability of these guitars are apparent. More importantly the instruments can actually speak for themselves.

Additional comments:
There are a number of systems available for making the guitar easily playable. Mr. Zager's method to my mind makes the most sense and the custom guitars he produces are first rate.

<Donbahl@me.com>
Santa Ana, California
5 months ago
Model: ZAD-20E

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
The prior guitar I used for over 30 years. It was a "Bluegrass". My new Zager plays so much easier and with better tone, it is just a much more enjoyable experience to play.

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
I can now reach much higher frets comfortably than I ever could before,

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
Here I am at a loss, as it has been so many years since I have purchased any guitar.

How would you rate customer support?
I have never needed any support since the box arrived on schedule and was perfect, just as ordered. When I first was interested in your guitar company, I emailed Denny and asked him which of his models to get, as I am over 70 years old and will never be doing commercial performances. To his credit, he suggested the 20 e as a economical practical choice. It suits my purposes well.

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
Yes, I have done so, Because it is an easily mastered instrument and you can play and sound better than you really are.

Additional comments:
Don't bother to send the strings, I am not doing this for reward.